TECHNIQUES OF VISUAL RESEARCH

Second cycle degree in CULTURES, EDUCATION AND GLOBAL SOCIETY

Campus: PADOVA

Language: English

Teaching period: First Semester

Lecturer: ANNALISA MARIA FRISINA

Number of ECTS credits allocated: 3


Syllabus
Prerequisites: General knowledge on Qualitative Social Research
Examination methods: Oral exam at the end of the course or submission of a written paper on a previously agreed topic.
Course unit contents: Monday: 9.30-12.15
Tuesday: 9-11.15
AULA 1, via Cesarotti 10/12
(Class attendance is mandatory)

1st and 2nd Week
Introduction to Visual Research and Post-colonialism

Tuesday 3rd October 2017, 9-11.15, Aula 1:
Course description and organization

Monday 9 October 2017, 9.30-12.15, Aula 1:
Introducing Qualitative and Visual Research

Tuesday 10 October 2017, 9-11.15, Aula 1:
Focus on ‘photo-interviewing’

Monday 16 October 2017, 9.30-12.15, Aula 1:
Postcolonialism, sociology and racism

Tuesday 17 October 2017, 9-11.15, Aula 1:
Visual culture as a battlefield.
(Neo)Colonial imaginaries and anti-racist gazes

3rd and 4th Week
Postcolonial research: Visual Explorations

Monday 23 October, 9.30-12.15, Aula 1:
Re-imagining Africa and Italy

Tuesday 24 October, 9-11.15, Aula 1:
Presentation of the exploratory research with Arising Africans

25 October- 5 November: Group works (Photointerviewing and transcriptions)

5th Week
Presentation of Group works

6 November, 9.30-12.15, Aula 1: First session of presentation of Group works

7 November, 9-11.15, Aula 1: Second session of presentation of Group works

Monday 13 November: Going public!
Meeting outside academia with Arising Africans